This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Branching Plan for SAAS Application Maintenance Team

Oct 17, 2014 at 4:11 PM
Hello,

I am completely new to branching and I am trying to figure out which strategy best suits our existing deployment process. We are a team of 5 developers working on an SAAS app. We practice kanban Agile development. Our application was developed in classic ASP. We do not develop new features for our application but we do a lot bug fixing and code refactoring and maintenance. We also do a lot SQL Server Stored procedure, User defined functions refactoring and creation. We do weekly deployments of our changes to the Live environment. We use TFS for source control. Here is our deployment process,

1) After fixing bugs or creating/refactoring a Stored procedure for an ASP page , it passed to another developer for code review
2) If it passes Code review, it deployed to QA test environment
3) If it passes QA testing, it deployed to a Prelive environment for further regression testing
4) It is deployed to the Live environment once signed off by QA

While different tasks/bugs are being tested by the QA team, more development work is going.

I have downloaded and read the version control guide by ALM rangers and am a bit confused as to which branching plan to adopt.

So far, I am considering one of these
1) Branch by Code promotion
2) Basic branch Plan – (We will have a Main Branch, Dev Branch and a maintenance branch for hotfixes)

For the Basic branch Plan, Bug Fixes will be done on the Dev branch and deployments done from the Main branch .Any bugs flagged up after deployments will be fixed in the Maintenance branch.