This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Branch Strategy Multiple Clients

Sep 29, 2011 at 3:55 PM

Hello,

I am sorry but i am quite new with branching in source codes. We are a 8 people team working in SPW (reaaaaally old code) in which versions are not supported since all development is made in the same server. And now we are moving to .NET.... scary :D

Anyway, we have developed 5 products for the last 15 years and have about some clients for one or more products.

Our software is about logistics and each client needs a customization. The software is standard and is evolving with the time...

After some reading in Internet I have decided to have a MAIN/DEV branch of each product. Then each client will have its own branch (dev & release) from the release they bought. Those branches are used for testing since each client has its own customization...

Something like

+ DEV

+ MAIN

+ Release 1

+ Client 1 Release

+ Client 1 Dev

+ Client 2 Release

+ Client 2 Dev

+ Release 2

+ Client 3 Release

But i am not sure about this scenario. The thing is how can i upgrade here a client to a new release? Product release branches are used for some way of Service Pack

Sorry if i said something really wrong.

- Do you think is this strategy acceptable? Then how to upgrade a client?

- If not, what is the better solution?

Thanks for your time!

Nov 25, 2011 at 5:19 PM

What is SPW? Does it involve source code?

Did you say that you have never before had versions because your previous platform did not support that? And you and your team are new to source code branching and merging?