This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Beginners Question - Basic Branch Plan

May 12, 2011 at 10:31 AM

Hi, I am completely new to branching and am trying to figure out how to apply the basic branch plan to an existing solution.  We have one solution file containing 11 projects, a mixture of web application, shared class libraries, web services, database projects etc...

The structure is as follows:

>Solution
 -ClassLibrary1
 -WebProject
 -WebService1
 -ClassLibrary2
 -DatabaseProject1
 -DatabaseProject2
 -WebService2

The main project I would like to add branching to (at least to start with) is the web project and i want to know exactly how to structure things, and where to create the branch.

Should I branch at the WebProject folder level, which also contains the project file? Do I then need to add this new branch to the solution? Wouldn't this give a naming conflict?

Should I create a sub-folder for 'Main' and move all of my existing code in to this and then branch from there in to other sub folders?  How would this affect my folder structure when I deploy the web project (I don't want a 'Main'/'Release' folder created when I deploy to my production web server.

Sorry if this is really basic, but it hasn't quite 'clicked' with me how I should get this started.

Thanks in advance,

Ian

Developer
May 13, 2011 at 8:45 PM

Since I don't know how much you already understand about TFS / Team Projects / Branching, etc. Let me start with some basics.

• Start by creating a Team Project to contain all of the eleven (11) projects in your solution. For discussion purposes, I will call this TeamProject1 ($/TeamProject1).
  • Create a workspace mapping for this Team Project. (Map $/TeamProject1 to a local folder on your workstation (for example c:/ws/TeamProject1)
  • Next, create a folder called Main in the Team Project. ($TeamProject1/Main) - this will be the folder that contains your MAIN branch.