This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Basic Branch Plan

Nov 19, 2010 at 9:54 PM
Edited Nov 19, 2010 at 9:56 PM

Hello,

I am new to TFS completely so these will be pretty simplistic questions I assume. I have read over (but not completely understood) HOL_Quick_Start_Basic_Branch_Plan_2010_v1.pdf and  TFS_Branching_Guide_Main_2010_v1.pdf. Currently our shop is uses the following branching strategy:

- Main Branch (equivalent to your release in the documentation)
-- Integration Branch (equivalent to Main in the documentation)
--- Private Group (equivalent to your "Development Folder")
----joe_prvt (joe's private branch)
----sally_prvt (sally's private branch)

I am hoping there is someone out there that can possibly confirm my assumptions on the "Basic Branch Plan". I want to stay as close as possible to the guidelines in our first pass at TFS. I can always make it more complicated.

Questions:
1. I assume my current branching strategy is pretty much exactly the same as the Basic Branch Plan. Please advise if I am mistaken.

2. In the Basic branch plan I only see 1 branch called "Development" in the Development folder. I assume this is just for example purposes. Specifically, if I have 10 developers, each developer would have thier own development branch (like my current strategy) under the Development folder. Is that the idea for the Basic plan? or is the recommendation that each individual developer branch would be a child of the Developer branch; therefore, they would need to first RI to Devleopment then RI Main (and then RI release).

Thanks!

Developer
Nov 19, 2010 at 10:08 PM

I am not sure your branch structure is *exactly* the same as the Basic Branch plan. We recommend against having an integration  branch between Main branch and the Feature branches (your private branches).