This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

How to Handle N-Tier Applications

Oct 18, 2010 at 1:02 PM

I am new to TFS.  We have about 10 applications in our company that are N-Tier designed and subsequently the Data Access Layer (DAL) and Business Logic Layer (BLL) on all of them is exactly the same.  We use Visual Source Safe and just make 10 copies for each application.  We have to manually remember to make any changes to one of these to the others. 

Is there a way in TFS to have the DAL and BLL as a single Team Project but identify that that it is used in conjunction with the 10 applications?

Developer
Oct 19, 2010 at 11:11 PM

I would recommend maintaing the shared code (DAL and BL layers) in a separate Team Project. You can then branch the source (or the assemblies) into the other projects that have dependencies on the shared code. You should not make 10 copies of shared code unless you absolutely have to.

The Rangers are writing an article in MSDN magazine on exactly this problem and our recommended solution(s)

Regards,
Bill Heys
VS ALM Ranger

Oct 19, 2010 at 11:31 PM
Edited Oct 19, 2010 at 11:52 PM

I strongly, strongly recommend against having seperate team project for each application. Inside of Microsoft, both the Developer Division and the Office division each have 1 team project for their entire portfolio. [Think the Visual Studio and .Net Framework teams live under 1 team project, the Word, Excel, and PowerPoint teams live under 1 Team Project (Office for example).

There's also the huge investment in having multiple process templates/work item definition changes, test plans, test suites, reports, environment VMs (with lab management), email alerts on checkins, code analysis settings, and on and on....Not to mention the fact that there are some nasty nasty bugs in checkin policies if you have more than 1 team project:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/tfsversioncontrol/thread/a71ac2f0-dc9c-4c03-a6a3-ab59877c55d8