This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Newbie branching and merging question

Apr 16, 2011 at 9:24 PM

Hello. Very quickly, I'll say that I am extremely new to branching and merging, but it is something that I believe could really help my organization out a lot. I've spent the last few days reading everything I could. Most of it makes sense to me. Some of it has not clicked *yet*.

I'm having trouble wrapping my head around a specific problem, and I'm hoping someone reading tihs can help. I've looked and looked for similar issues, but I haven't found anything that addresses my issue, and I'm really having a hard time figuring out keywords to search for to address it. So here it goes:

I have a very large Web site (thousands of files..aspx, vb, images, etc). We do a release of varying sizes at least once a week. Sometimes more. Sometimes the client calls us in the morning and says we need to do a release that day.

BACKGROUND: We have a team of 5-10 developers working on the same code base right now. Everyone checks everything into the same code base.

We have 1 TEST environment for our QA team to look at what's going to go live soon. When we're ready to deploy to TEST, we compile the code and we figre out which files are changed for that build and we deploy only those files to TEST. This way, if 2 developers are working on different parts of the site and checking in changes, we won't be putting changes for a later release on TEST. Sometimes 2 devlelopers are working on the same file for different releases, and it gets very confusing. This is where I think the branching can help us out.